Who we are > Application procedure



Read the Press Release announcing the selected 2021-2025 FENS-Kavli Scholars

Find out here the names and explore the profiles of 2021-2025 FKNE cohort 

The next call for FENS-Kavli Scholars will be launched in January 2023

Application Procedure 2021

  • Only candidates who have independent PI positions in a FENS member country are eligible
  • Candidates are encouraged to apply directly
  • Additionally, each FENS member society may nominate up to two candidates. These do not have to be members of the nominating society. Applications made by member societies will be subject to all of the same selection criteria as individual applications. Gender balance is strongly. encouraged
  • In all cases, the application should be supported by two letters from internationally renowned neuroscientists
  • All applications and nominations should be submitted via the online application form.

– Check here the names and profiles of the selected 2021-2025 FENS-Kavli Scholars.

The FENS-Kavli Network of Excellence (FKNE) consists of 30 Scholars; they serve two terms of 2 years (4 years in total). Every two years up to 15 new Scholars are selected, and 15 – end their mandate/rotate off, becoming FKNE Alumni.
The call for the 2023-2027 FKNE cohort will open in January 2023.



We are aiming for:

  • Early and mid-career stage neuroscientists with independent positions
  • Neuroscientists with successful research lines – as evidenced by outstanding publications as main (first, last and/or corresponding) authors, and/or receipt of prestigious personal prizes, fellowships, or grants
  • Neuroscientists who typically completed their PhD work 4-12 years ago (though there is no strict timing rule, and candidates who are over 12 years post-PhD will still be considered to allow for childcare considerations)
  • Neuroscientists with strong leadership and communication skills who are motivated to actively participate in Network activities
  • Diversity is a central value of the FENS-Kavli Network, this is a central focus in our recruitment process.

To promote optimal group dynamics, we aim to maximise our spread over all disciplines of neuroscience.

The FENS-Kavli Scholars:

  • will be selected based on the above criteria
  • will actively serve two terms, each of 2 years’ duration 

Selection of 15 FENS-Kavli Scholars will take place in 2023.

2023 Selection Committee: to be announced

Past Selection Committees


2021 Selection Committee:

Tomás Ryan – FKNE Chair
Pirta Hotulainen – FKNE Vice-Chair
Irene Tracey – FENS President-Elect
Stephanie Albin – Science Program Officer, The Kavli Foundation
Asya Rolls – FKNE Alumni 
Lucia Prieto-Godino – FKNE Scholar
Julie Duqué – FKNE Scholar
Maximilian Jösch – FKNE Scholar

Filippo Del Bene – FKNE Scholar

2018 Selection Committee

Megan Carey – FKNE Chair
Gaia Novarino – FKNE Vice-Chair
Carmen Sandi – FENS President-Elect
Thomas Mrsic-Flogel – FENS Forum 2018 Program Committee Chair
Panayiota Poirazi – Former FKNE Chair
Filippo Del Bene – FKNE Scholar
Patrik Verstreken – FKNE Scholar
Tim Vogels – FKNE Scholar





2016 Selection Committee

Panayiota Poirazi – FKNE Chair 
Ileana Hanganu-Opatz – FKNE Scholar 
Asya Rolls – FKNE Scholar 
Emre Yaksi – FKNE Scholar
Barry Everitt – FENS President-Elect 

Rui M. Costa – FENS Forum 2016 Program Committee Chair
Marian Joëls – FENS Past President

2014 Selection Committee

Monica Di Luca – FENS President
Marian Joëls – FENS Past President
Marianne Amalric – FENS Secretary General
Juan Lerma – FENS Secretary General-Elect
Patrick Verstreken – mid-career neuroscientist